Gluten free food & drink

On a gluten free diet you can eat foods naturally free of gluten, such as particular grains, fruit, vegetable, meat, fish, eggs and dairy. You can also eat any processed foods which do not include gluten - be careful to check the packaging.

Due to the increased risk of osteoporosis, it is important to regularly consume calcium containing food, such as milk and cheese. A daily intake of 1500mg of calcium is recommended for adults suffering from coeliac disease.

How to manage a gluten free diet
Aoecs Quinoa Salad


Many grains do not contain gluten and can be used to as flours and as a substitute to wheat, barley and rye.

These include: Amaranth, buckwheat, chestnut, corn (maize), millet, polenta (cornmeal), quinoa, rice, sago, sorghum, soya, tapioca and teff.

Look for flours that are labelled gluten free.

Aoecs Fruit Vegetables

Fruit & Vegetables

Naturally, all fresh fruits and vegetables (including potatoes) do not contain gluten and can be included in a gluten free diet. 

Note that some processed dried or frozen fruits and vegetables may be covered with flour from gluten-containing grains to prevent them from sticking, so always check the product labelling for ingredients.

Aoecs Salmon Egg Salad


Fresh meat, poultry, fish, eggs, nuts, seeds and pulses are naturally gluten free and can be eaten by people suffering from with coeliac disease. Meat alternatives such as tofu could often also be gluten free, but check the ingredient label to be sure. 

However, some processed and cured meats such as ham and sausages can contain gluten so always check the ingredient label for that kind of food.

Aoecs Gluten Free Cheese


Fresh milk is naturally gluten free and a good source of calcium. However, powdered milk, condensed milk, milk with added fibre or flavourings etc., is not always gluten free. In some countries you may find these are used, for example, in coffee machines, so please always check the ingredients list.

Gluten free dairy products include milk, cream, sour cream, plain yogurt and fromage frais, butter and ghee, cheese (but check the label on processed cheese) and cottage cheese. 

Aoecs Drinks


Many alcoholic and soft drinks do not contain gluten such as: fruit juices, soft drinks, mineral waters, tea, pure coffee, wine and distillates for spirit.

Specialty gluten free beers and lagers are increasingly available and can be found in supermarkets and health food stores.

Please note that normal beer, lager and ale is not suitable for people with coeliac disease.

Medium 1Xg Logo Mono

The Crossed Grain Trademark

The Crossed Grain Trademark is a globally registered trademark and can only be used under licence on food and drink products that meet the AOECS standard. Amongst coeliac consumers, the CGT is seen as the most important means of letting them know that a product is safe to eat.

Our member societies have licensed over 23,000 gluten free products that are safe to date. Use of this trademark is strictly monitored by AOECS and its member societies to ensure its integrity. 

Read more about the Crossed Grain